Mt. Saint Sour Cream

Mt. Saint Sour Cream

Does dip actually need a recipe? I mean really? Take some sour cream and chuck in some tasty stuff. Actually, for me the primary dip recipe of note is:

Open tub of Sour Cream
Insert Chip
Cram in mouth

But that lacks elegance. And my guests sometimes object to everyone eating out of the Sour Cream tub, so apparently I do need a recipe… Fine… Be that way.

Sour Cream and Scallion Dip:

16 oz Sour Cream (reduced fat is OK if you roll that way)
5 T Chopped Scallions
1/2 C Chopped Fresh Flat Leafed Parsley
1/3 C Dehydrated Onion Flakes
1 T Granulated Garlic
1 t Worcestershire Sauce
Dash of Paprika
Salt and Pepper to taste
Frankly – everything is to taste.

Scrape sour cream out of the container into a medium sized bowl and add all of the ingredients except parsley. Stir together well and taste for seasoning. Add anything else you want, except dried herbs – they suck in this application. Scrape mixture back into sour cream tub and seal.

Allow to sit overnight in ‘fridge or as long as you have. A couple of hours is essential. Shortly before you serve it, stir in the parsley. Once it is made it keeps well refrigerated, but I like adding the parsley just before serving it to guests.

My husband, well he gets the stuff that has been sitting in the ‘fridge for however long. You will notice that there is no mayo in this recipe as is common in other recipes. I do not care for mayo sullying my sour cream experience.

Guess who ate the prop chip? Husband, of course.